(ΘεΘ;) I’m in New York

I’m taking an intro to animation class at NYU. I have to admit, I was kind of disappointed with NYU because I found everything so confusing and I have no idea about some other things, and somethings NYU just has bad costumer service about. D: Like… the people who work at the Help Desk. I never realized how well Wellesley trains us until I called the NYU Help Desk and was on the phone for 20 minutes with someone who didn’t say a word to me. I thought my call bad been dropped. I also have no idea what my dad paid for because the account summary makes no sense. But I don’t want to call because I am honestly sick on NYU’s hold music. I also didn’t have internet for the first 4 days I was here. Laaaaaaame.

Despite all of these things and then some, my art class is not confusing or annoying. It does seem to be a little intense, but I can understand it. I’m still a little awkward with the other kids in my class. We had the option of doing this next homework assignment in groups, but when I asked people if they wanted to be in a group with me… no one seemed all that interested. I can understand that. We don’t know each other. We’ve only seen each other twice. Well, 6 of the 8 of us are NYU students who do know each other. But… no one else knows me, is what I’m trying to get at here. So… I’ll probably do my stop motion animation homework by myself.

It’s like I told my aunt: if given the chance to work in groups, I jump on it. But for some reason, I always tend to work alone.

Aside from that, I like New York. Sure it’s always noisy and there are way too many people. But, if I find myself walking around the city at 3AM, I might be a little paranoid, but I know I’m safer than in Boston. Not that I would be walking around New York city at 3AM. It’s just a… if I had to.

I’m happy, sorta. I woke up at around 9 today and I haven’t done anything. Which is cool. But…. I kind of wish I were at home… But I’m glad I’m here. I’m going to treat it as a test of courage. If I can survive living in New York city for 5 more weeks, I can survive anything. Although, I have to say, I am pretty lucky to know of so many friends who are in the city this summer.

Leave a Reply

