Homework 3 ( ゚ヮ゚) Objects~!

My object

My object is a pencil. Any kind of pencil will to, but usually it’s a mechanical pencil. When I was younger I read this amazing book called My Name is Asher Lev that made me want to be an artist. In this book the the way the author described how the main character, Asher Lev, felt whenever he drew and how he was drawing just fascinated me. I had always liked to draw. I used to draw little mini comics all the time when I was little. In Kindergarten we used to have a journal that we had to write and draw in everyday. I used to get scolded for only drawing in it. I had to stay after class one day and write entries for all the drawings I had done. Even so, I never really thought about art besides the “pretty” or “ugly” point, until I read that book.

I started taking art more seriously in school after that. I’ve never really been that good with paint, but I think I’m pretty good with a pencil. What I like about pencils is the fact that you can erase. You can always erase your mistakes. and even when you can’t erase it completely, there’s always a way that you can make that smudge part of your drawing. Before, I also only used the eraser to erase, but a couple years ago I learned that you can also use the eraser to draw. You can manipulate the pencil markings as well. If you don’t like it, you can just use the full force of the eraser and start again. I guess I’m a little insecure and worried about making mistakes in that sense, but that’s what I like about pencils. I like how you can start again and make something even better than before. It’s a little hard to do that in real life.

I had a pretty rough time at the end of middle school. That’s when I did most of my drawings and writing. That’s also when I decided I wanted to become an animator and a writer. I spent a lot of my time just drawing and making up interesting stories for these characters I had created. I still drew those mini comics (during class). It was very therapeutic, to be able to have an imaginary world I could escape to and have it right at the tip of my pencil. I don’t do it as often anymore now. I always carry a pencil with me though. You never know when you’re going to need one. You can use anything for paper, but it’s hard to find a replacement for a pencil (or a pen). I still want to be an animator and a writer, and I still make up stories and draw things out when I have time to.

Designer Statement

For our astronomy project, we need tokens for each of the planets, a space ship, and an astronaut. I thought it would be a really great idea to create the astronaut token and print it using the 3D printer. I’m going to have to ask my art teacher for some help. Here’s a basic sketch I made of what the token would look like. (It’s not great quality….. I realized afterward)

I’ll post a picture of the actual 3D object~! 😀

[update]
I had help from a classmate. But here’s what the astronaut looks like in Maya. This took me so long! Especially since I don’t really know how to use Maya! o_o; I’m surprised it came out this well!

[update again]
Looks like I needed to draw it again on Maya. D: I made the head a little too small (boo~) I’ll post a picture soon~

Leave a Reply

